Become a member Members Login

Timeline of TAA’s Evolution

1960 Imperial College of Tropical Agriculture (ICTA) absorbed into University of West Indies.

1978 ICTA Association UK established.

1979 ICTA Association renamed Tropical Agriculture Association (UK).

1983 Charitable status application failed. 1st Ralph Melville Memorial Lecture.

1985 New TAA tie.

1989 The Tropical Agriculture Award Fund (TAAF) formally launched in Hyde Park. Charitable status obtained for the TAA.

1993 First stand at the Royal Agricultural Show.

1997 Regional Convenors established in London/South East, Scotland/Borders, and South West.

2002 (UK) dropped from the name of the Association. East Anglia regional group established. TAAF made its 100th Award.

2003 Association for Better Land Husbandry (ABLH) joined TAA and became a specialist group.

2004 TAA began hosting the UK Forum for Agricultural Research for Development (UKFARD).

2005 Overseas Branch established in India.

2006 1stHugh Bunting Memorial Lecture at Reading University.

2007 Golden Year Reunion of TAA members who were ICTA graduates. Agri-Business Group joined as a member of British Expertise (formerly BCCB).

2008 Agriculture for Development journal launched. All-Party Parliamentary Group on Agriculture and Food for Development launched.

2009 First TAA Honours are awarded. Environmental Conservation specialist group established. Overseas Branch established in the Caribbean.

2013 Overseas Branch established in South-East Asia.

2014 TAA celebrated 25 years as a registered charity and joined LendwithCARE. Overseas Branch established in the Pacific.

2015 Scotland and North of England established as two separate Groups. Overseas Branch established in Ireland.